Log in
Check your username and password and try again.
Check your email to reset your password.

reset password

Board of Directors

WineAmerica is structured as a non-profit trade association (501 c 6). Its policies and administration are governed by a 29-member board of directors elected by the full winery membership. The Board maintains a number of committees to address continuing interests, including International, Technical, Agriculture, Environment, Legislative, Membership, Nominations, Long Term Planning and Executive. Two meetings of the Board are held each year: the Annual Meeting, with a legislative issues focus, held each spring in Washington, D.C. and the Annual Leadership Planning Retreat, held each fall in different wine producing regions throughout the country.

Board members are elected by the winery membership to three-year terms, staggered so that one-third of the Board is up for election in any given year. Three quarters of the Board of Directors are elected to represent nine regions which are devised to reflect, as best as possible, an equal number of wineries. Each region has two seats, except for California which, by virtue of the size of its industry, has four seats. In addition to the regional positions, eight Board members are elected at-large. The State Associations Council Chairman is also a member of the WineAmerica Board of Directors.


Caroline Shaw, Chair,
Jackson Family Wines, CA

Kevin Atticks, State and Regional Associations Advisory Council Chairman
Maryland Wineries Association

Martin Clubb, Treasurer
L’Ecole No. 41, WA


Ed Boyce – Black Ankle Vineyards,  MD
Mario Mazza, Mazza Vineyards, PA

New York

Trent Preszler – Bedell Cellars
Jim Trezise – New York Wine & Grape Foundation


Rachel Martin – Boxwood Estate Winery, VA
Rob Ramsey – Stonehaus Winery, TN

Great Lakes

David Braganini – St. Julian Wine Company, MI
Kathleen Oliver – Oliver Winery, IN


Max McFarland – Mac’s Creek Vineyards, NE
Eldon Nygaard – Valiant Vineyards, SD

Rocky Mountain

Ron Bitner – Bitner Vineyards, ID
Naomi Shepherd Smith – Grande River Vineyards, CO


Martin Clubb – L’Ecole No. 41
Kari Leitch – Ste. Michelle Wine Estates


Kara Olmo – Wooldridge Creek Winery
Steve Thomson – King Estate Winery


Dennis Cakebread – Cakebread Cellars
Caroline Shaw – Jackson Family Wines
Richard Smith – Paraiso Vineyards
Michael Walker – Constellation Brands


Jim Anderson – Missouri Grape and Wine Board, MO
Kevin Atticks – Maryland Wineries Association, MD
Jim Ballard – James Arthur Vineyards, NE
Jerry Douglas – The Biltmore Estate Wine Company, NC
James Finkle – Constellation Brands
Douglas Moorhead – Presque Isle Wine Cellars, PA
Edward O’Keefe – Chateau Grand Traverse, MI
Cord Switzer, Fredericksburg Winery, TX
Carolyn Wasem, Jackson Family Wines, CA and OR