TTB Announces New Interim Guidelines for the use of “Gluten Free” on Alcohol Beverage Labels

The TTB has completed their review of how the FDA’s final rule on the use of the term “gluten-free” in the labeling of products under FDA’s labeling jurisdiction impacts the TTB’s interim policy on gluten content statements in the labeling and advertising of wine, beer and spirits.

The TTB is updating their policy on gluten labeling, based on the review of the FDA rule and in consultation with the FDA.  TTB believes in is important to make sure that their labeling standards are as consistent as possible with the FDA regulations.

Alcohol beverages that are made from ingredients that do not contain gluten (such as wine made from grapes) may continue to make make “gluten-free” claims in the same way that the new FDA regulations allow for gluten free products.  TTB will consider “gluten-free” label claims for for alcohol beverages that are made from gluten-containing grains to be misleading consumers who wish to avoid the consumption of gluten for various health reasons.  Products made from gluten-containing grains may be labeled with a statement that the product was “processed,” “treated,” or “crafted” to remove gluten.  If that statement is made with a qualifying statement that informs the consumer that the gluten content of the product cannot be determined and that the product may contain gluten.

The TTB may decide to revise this policy after the FDA issues a final rule.